The Academy of Fine Arts in Belgrade was founded in 1937, and in 1973 it was renamed the Faculty of Fine Arts. In the eight decades of its existence, 2,900 students graduated from the Faculty and 1120 completed postgraduate studies. Over 130 prominent artists worked as teachers and fifteen of them were elected members of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts.

The By-laws of the Faculty (from 2006) stipulate a reoroganization of teaching schedule into the system of 3+2, i.e. three years of undergraduate study and two years of graduate studies. There is also a programme of postgraduate diploma studies in creative practice and docotorial studies in arts as the highest degree in visual arts education. The teaching is performed by full professors and lecturers who have previously acquired Ph.D.s or D.A.s. The duration of doctoral studies in art is three years including one term of the final artwork. The latest By-laws have retained the original four Departments of the Faculty: Painting, Sculpture, Graphic Art and Theory Department. The teaching subject of Intermedia Art was introduced as the first step towards the opening of a new department, in the school year 2010/11.

The Faculty uses five buildings, a rich library and two galleries as well as two separate organizational units - the Centre for Printmaking and Visual Research and the Sculpture Foundry.

University website -